Skip to content
26/11/2011 / creedreamz

A Jamaican Thanksgiving

I must say, right about now, I think I am most thankful for technology.  Thursday morning me did wake up, an within an hour or so, I was able to watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade live from EarthCam.  It was totally cool, yeah I didn’t have the NBC Commentators, but I still was able to enjoy the parade…for the next three hours. 😉  I multi-tasked though, I didn’t only watch the parade, I managed to get quite a bit done with my CASI.  Now there is about 3/4 finished??  Whatever.  It’s getting done and that’s the important thing.  Technology awesomeness number 2:  I was able to watch the Green Bay Packers demolish the Detroit lions.  Holler!  haha.  Then I got to skype my dad, as well as see pictures from the Clancy family Thanksgiving feast (big ups to Uncle Jim for posting the pics).  So yeah technology = total awesomeness!

So my dinner, cuz we all know that’s the most important part.  In PC we have what are called “Supervisors” and “Counterparts.”  Our Supervisors are the people that picked us up from Powell Plaza and took us to site on September 2.  These are the people that are directly responsible for us and who more/less oversees our projects (my supervisor is Tamor -pronounced Tamar- Blake).  Our Counterparts are people who, other than our supervisors, that help us with our projects; basically another person(s) to run our ideas by.  So my counterpart, Miss Fern, travels to the States quite a bit, and has quite a few friends in Jamaica that are from the States.  For these reasons, I believe, she puts on a huge Thanksgiving dinner every year; lucky me, right?  I mean, what would Thanksgiving be if I don’t stuff my face with food and deserts?  It was kind of a potluck style deal, to my understanding.  People made dishes, brought them, and we nyam everyting up!  There was curried something or another, cranberry sauce, some mashed sweet potato with corn flakes on top (delicious), ham, scalloped potatoes, shrimp something or another, stuffing (dunno what kind), and naturally a turkey!  Yay!  And there were like 4 different cakes for desert (yes, I had a piece of all 4).  So yeah, most the people there were from the Tresure Beach Women’s Group, which one of them has done lots of travel and didn’t live too far from where I used to live in Chicago.  She also had been through Sandwich a couple times, and was at Valpo for an Art exhibit a couple years ago.  WEIRD!!  Small world, I tell ya, small world.  But yeah, she’s a born American, went on vacation to Jamaica 16 years ago, and pretty much never left (no worries, I’m pretty sure I’ll come home, eventually).  But yeah, Wednesday I met a lady that also did no live far from where I live in Chicago.  2 people in one week that lived super close to where I was at in Chicago.  The world honestly gets smaller and smaller every day.  Then meeting a guy who grew up in Oshkosh, WI, not far from Oconomowoc where the Dolans hale from.  Wonderful world we live in!

So last night was our 2nd shot at Movie Night.  With no technical difficulties, we were set.  One problem.  Not enough advertisement.  We only had like a week and a half to get everything together, and get the word out.  Not my choice to do it with such late notice, but whatever.  Needless to say, not many people showed up;  maybe about 20 or so tickets sold.  Food is key, though.  All our cakes and puddings sold out.  People won’t sit through a movie, but they’ll stop by and buy the food.  Popcorn is a huge seller.  Definitely a HOT COMMODITY!  So yeah, I think we were profitable.  I haven’t really looked at the numbers, but from the little bit I gathered, we came out on top, but not much.  I don’t think the next one will be until January, so that should be enough time to figure out a good medium to get people to go to the movie AND buy food.  Err.. the movie we showed this time was another Comedy titled Just Go With It staring Adam Sandler and Jennifer Aniston.  Everyone enjoyed the movie.  Lovely.

Arriite, me a guh tek wan nap befi me a start fi write me CASI.  Hopefully I will be able to get some NCAA WBB games on radio or something while I work on my CASI.  🙂

Oh but before I do… This morning I was meeting up with a friend when I walked passed a hog hanging upside down.  😦 I love my pork and ham as much as the next person, but I just don’t care to see the pig in it’s recently slaughtered stage.  They had already gutted him, and copped his head off.  I saw the empty inside of the pig as they chopped at him.  *winces* Yeah… I’d rather not see that again.  I’ll just eat the thing after all is said and done.  Sorry I didn’t have my camera, for those of you who would like to see that kinda thing, but yeah, I also wasn’t about to go back and get my camera, either.  Not yet.  Maybe next time. *shivers in disgust*

Jamaican Proverb: Wanti, wanti, cyan getti, getti, getti nuh want it.

Meaning: Count your blessings and don’t take what you have for granted.  Somebody else may want what you have.

Leave a comment